Pakistan Defies Sri Lanka to Win T20 World Cup by Just Eight Wickets in Thrilling Final Match

Watch live: Pakistan takes on Canada in a Group A cricket match at the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 | Latest updates from the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

The T20 World Cup took place in England, where Pakistan faced off against Sri Lanka in the final match. In a thrilling contest, Pakistan emerged as the winners, triumphing over Sri Lanka by just eight wickets. A total of 12 teams competed in the tournament, with Tillakaratne Dilshan being awarded the Player of the Tournament title.

The tournament began with England suffering a defeat against the Netherlands at Lord’s. Despite this setback, England managed to advance to the Super 8s stage, where they were eventually eliminated along with defending champions India and Australia.

Pakistan had a slow start to the tournament but managed to make it to the semifinals. Shahid Afridi played a key role in their victory against South Africa, while Tillakaratne Dilshan’s impressive innings of 96 runs off 57 balls led Sri Lanka to a 57-run win over the West Indies in the other semifinal match.

The T20 World Cup took place shortly after the tragic armed attack on the Sri Lankan cricket team in Lahore, Pakistan. The pre-final anthems held special significance in light of this event. In the final match, Mohammad Amir’s early dismissal of Dilshan set the tone for Sri Lanka’s batting collapse, despite a valiant effort from Kumar Sangakkara.

Shahid Afridi once again proved his mettle in

Leave a Reply